5_montagne_crochet_mailloux.jpg

Hello! I'm Amy.

My full name is Amy Éloïse Mailloux, hence the name Les Mailles  in Mailloux, as Les Mailles could be translated to the stitches... so Mailloux's stitches.

 

I am a Montrealer, a marketing project manager by day and crocheter / knitter / maker of pretty things at night ... on lunch times ... and on weekends!  

I learned to knit when I was about 10 years old, to make slippers with my mom, which were then sold to donate to the cause of breast cancer. I took up this hobby again in 2013, when I was knitting with a friend while watching movies. It was another friend who introduced me to crochet the following year and since 2014, I never stopped and always have a project in hand. Making helps me keep my hands busy and relieve my anxiety!

In 2019, I started making crochet dishcloths during lunch time at the office. Some colleagues started to tell me I should have an Etsy store... and I listened to their advice! In July 2019, Les Mailles à Mailloux was born!

My first item to sale was The Classic Dishcloth, in honor of my grandma who had passed away in June of that year. That was also that model that marked the start of my adventure as a designer , in January 2020.

To create, I am inspired by colors, feelings, fibers and people. My designs reflect my crocheter style: simple, easy to follow and with as little seams as possible!

Welcome to my happy place.

5_montagne_crochet_mailloux.jpg

Salut! Moi c'est Amy.

Amy Éloïse Mailloux, d'où le nom Les Mailles à Mailloux. Je suis une montréalaise, chargée de projets marketing le jour et crocheteuse/tricoteuse/faiseuse de jolies choses le soir... les midis... et les week-ends! 

J'ai appris à tricoter quand j'avais environ 10 ans, pour faire des pantoufles avec ma maman, qu'on vendait ensuite pour faire des dons pour la cause du cancer du sein. J'ai repris ce hobbie en 2013, quand je tricotais avec une amie en écoutant des films. C'est une autre amie qui m'a initiée au crochet l'année suivante et à partir de 2014, je n'ai jamais cessé d'avoir un projet entre les mains. Comme j'ai un tic nerveux qui me fait gratter les doigts, ça m'aide à me contrôler et canaliser mon énergie positivement!

En 2019, je suis partie sur une lancée de création de guenilles au crochet. J'en crochetais une chaque midi au bureau. Des collègues m'ont dit « et si tu te lançais une boutique Etsy? ». Je les ai pris au mot et en juillet 2019, Les Mailles à Mailloux a vu le jour!

Mon premier item en vente était La guenille classique, en l'honneur de ma mamie décédée en juin. C'est aussi ce modèle qui a marqué le début de mon aventure comme designer, en janvier 2020.

Je crée au gré des envies et des saisons, je m'inspire de couleurs, de fibres et de gens. Mes designs sont à l'image de mon style de crocheteuse: simples, faciles à suivre et avec le moins de coutures possible!

Bienvenue chez moi.